New York-headquartered invasive brain-computer interface operator Precision Neuroscience closed a $250 million oversubscribed Series D on Thursday 24 September 2026. The round is co-led by three names: Pershing Square, Bill Ackman’s investment firm; the Ackman Oxman Institute, the philanthropic brain-computer interface and neurotechnology institute Bill Ackman and Neri Oxman announced in August 2026 after their daughter Lucy’s brain hemorrhage; and an undisclosed leading life-sciences investment fund. Total capital raised since Precision’s 2021 founding is now $430 million. It is the largest disclosed single round to date for a US invasive-BCI operator outside Neuralink.
The round
The Series D co-leads are Pershing Square, the Ackman Oxman Institute, and an undisclosed leading life-sciences investment fund. Additional named participation: Duquesne Family Office (Stanley Druckenmiller’s family office, continuing from Series C), B Capital, ARK Invest, Invus, Mubadala Capital (Abu Dhabi sovereign-wealth-linked), Mirae Asset Capital, Korea Investment Partners, Hitachi Ventures, JSL Health Capital, and other unnamed investors. The round was oversubscribed. Proceeds will expand Precision’s clinical programme, advance Layer 7 through the next stages of FDA review, and build the infrastructure required for commercialisation.
Precision’s funding history now runs Series A (2021), Series B ($41 million, January 2023), Series C ($102 million, December 2024, with participation from Steadview Capital, B Capital, and Duquesne Family Office), and Series D ($250 million, September 2026). Post-money valuation was not disclosed in the announcement.
The Ackman Oxman Institute is a structurally unusual co-lead
The Ackman Oxman Institute (AOI) is the philanthropic vehicle Bill Ackman and Neri Oxman announced in August 2026 with a founding gift of approximately $400 million from Pershing Square shares, with a second gift of similar or greater size flagged. AOI is a nonprofit, patient-focused institute that combines research, treatment, rehabilitation, artificial intelligence, brain-computer interfaces, and venture capital across neurotechnology, in partnership with Mount Sinai Health System and other hospitals and medical schools. AOI was inspired by Lucy Ackman’s massive brain hemorrhage in Brooklyn in February 2026.
AOI co-leading a for-profit Series D alongside Pershing Square is a structurally unusual capital signal. A nonprofit institute at the co-lead position on a $250 million private-company round is not standard venture-capital pattern. It signals patient-motivated capital moving into the invasive-BCI operator field alongside conventional financial-return capital.
Precision co-founder Ben Rapoport is a Mount Sinai neurosurgeon. Mount Sinai is one of AOI’s named partner institutions. The institutional axis, AOI plus Mount Sinai plus Precision, is direct.
Precision Neuroscience and the Layer 7 platform
Precision was founded in 2021 in New York by Ben Rapoport, Michael Mager, Demetrios Papageorgiou, and Mark Hettick. Michael Mager is Chief Executive Officer. Ben Rapoport is a founding-team scientist of Neuralink who left Neuralink in 2018 and is a practising Mount Sinai neurosurgeon with an MIT PhD in electrical engineering and computer science and a Harvard MD.
Precision’s flagship device is Layer 7, a thin-film microelectrode array that sits on the cortical surface rather than penetrating brain tissue. Layer 7 is minimally invasive, safely removable, and holds 4,096 electrodes on the cortical surface, the highest publicly disclosed cortical-surface electrode count in the invasive-BCI operator field. Layer 7 holds an FDA 510(k) clearance authorising commercial use for recording, monitoring, and stimulating on the cortical surface for implantation durations of up to thirty days, granted in April 2025. Precision has used Layer 7 across more than 100 patient procedures at 18 medical institutions, including the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine, the University of Chicago Medicine, Mount Sinai, and West Virginia University’s Rockefeller Neuroscience Institute. Peer-reviewed validation appears in Nature Biomedical Engineering.
The commercial infrastructure
Precision operates a wholly-owned Micro-Electro-Mechanical Systems (MEMS) manufacturing facility in Texas. Precision holds a Medtronic commercial partnership, described by the company as an industry-first BCI-and-medtech-major arrangement. On 23 July 2026, BrainGate founder John Donoghue joined Precision as Scientific Advisor. Donoghue is the 2026 Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering laureate for BrainGate’s contributions to brain-computer interface science.
Where Precision sits in the invasive-BCI operator field
The named invasive commercial BCI operator field that InsideBCI tracks includes Neuralink, Paradromics, Synchron, Blackrock Neurotech, Precision, CorTec, ABILITY Neurotech, StairMed, NeuroXess, Neuracle Medical, Merge Labs, and Subsense. Layer 7’s cortical-surface non-penetrating platform sits between Synchron’s endovascular stentrode (which enters the brain through the jugular vein) and the penetrating-microelectrode platforms of Neuralink (flexible polymer threads), Paradromics (microwire arrays), and Blackrock Neurotech (Utah arrays). Precision’s differentiation is bandwidth per unit of surgical footprint. Its Layer 7 electrode count is roughly sixteen times the 253-channel high-density ECoG surface array previously reported by the UCSF Chang lab.
Precision’s founding lineage traces to Neuralink through Ben Rapoport, a Neuralink founding-team scientist. That lineage puts Precision inside the DARPA-descendant operator field that grew out of federal neurotech R&D across two decades. John Donoghue’s advisory addition ties Precision to BrainGate, the multi-decade Brown, MGH, and Stanford consortium that produced almost every intracortical clinical implant participant in a US clinical trial today, using Blackrock Neurotech’s Utah array hardware.
The US-China Pacific parallel
The Series D closes two days after Chinese non-invasive brain-computer interface operator BCI-Sonics closed a RMB 200 million Pre-A round on 22 September 2026, co-led by HongShan (the post-2023 rebrand of Sequoia China) and Yunqi Partners. BCI-Sonics closed the round in Shanghai on the same day Premier Li Qiang inspected BCI products at a Shanghai future-industries incubator and directed the expansion of “patient capital” (耐心资本) for future industries including brain-computer interfaces.
Two top-tier private-capital signals into invasive-and-non-invasive brain-computer interface operators, one on each side of the Pacific, inside a single week. The rounds differ by nearly ten times in headline size ($250 million Precision versus approximately $28 million BCI-Sonics). The rounds share top-tier capital source signalling. The rounds do not appear coordinated but the timing coincidence is real.
What the round says about the invasive-BCI category
A $250 million Series D at oversubscribed close for a US invasive-BCI operator, with a top-tier hedge-fund manager and a nonprofit philanthropic institute as co-leads, signals that private capital allocation to the invasive-BCI category has moved out of specialist life-sciences venture and into cross-over territory. Bill Ackman is not a specialist life-sciences investor. Duquesne Family Office (Stanley Druckenmiller) is not a specialist life-sciences investor. ARK Invest is a public-markets thematic manager crossing over into private allocation. Mubadala Capital, Mirae Asset Capital, and Korea Investment Partners are sovereign-adjacent Asian capital sources. The investor mix indicates the invasive-BCI category is now considered a distinct thematic allocation, not only a life-sciences technology bet.
Not disclosed
Post-money valuation was not disclosed in the announcement. The undisclosed third co-lead life-sciences investment fund is not named. Specific Precision commercial launch timeline beyond “the infrastructure required for commercialisation” is not disclosed. Layer 7’s next FDA clearance milestone beyond the current up-to-thirty-day 510(k) is not disclosed. Precision’s revenue, unit-economics, and commercial pilot-programme details are not disclosed. Number of Layer 7 devices manufactured to date at the Texas MEMS facility is not disclosed.
What to watch
Whether Precision publishes a specific FDA regulatory milestone within the next twelve months. Layer 7’s current 510(k) covers implantation durations of up to thirty days. A move to a permanent-implant clearance or an expanded indication would materially change Precision’s commercial position.
Whether the Medtronic commercial partnership progresses to a public commercial pilot with defined dates, hospital sites, and pricing. A Medtronic-Precision commercial launch would be the first invasive-BCI-and-medtech-major distribution partnership to reach market visibility.
Whether the Ackman Oxman Institute continues to participate as a lead capital source in additional US invasive-BCI operator rounds in the coming quarters. AOI co-leading Neuralink, Paradromics, Synchron, or Blackrock Neurotech financings would indicate a category-wide philanthropic-capital strategy.
Whether Bill Ackman publicly amplifies BCI investment as a category thesis in public commentary or Pershing Square shareholder communications. Ackman has historically used public commentary as a category-shaping instrument for his portfolio positions.
Whether a comparable large-check late-stage round closes for Paradromics, Synchron, or Blackrock Neurotech in the coming quarters. Precision’s $250 million single-round close resets the fundraising benchmark for the US invasive-BCI operator peers.
Sources
Primary:
- GlobeNewswire, Precision Neuroscience Closes Oversubscribed $250M Series D, 24 September 2026
- Precision Neuroscience site
- Investing.com summary, Precision raises $250M led by Pershing Square, 24 September 2026
- Dealroom.co, Bill Ackman backs $250M raise for Precision Neuroscience’s brain-computer interface tech
- The New York Times DealBook, Investors Are Betting On Devices That Connect the Brain to Computers, 24 September 2026
Cross-reference to prior InsideBCI coverage: